The Gallipoli Medical Research Foundation are proud to work with Dame Quentin Bryce and Professor John Pearn as the Co-Patrons of our organisation.

Dame Quentin Bryce

The Honourable Dame Quentin Bryce AD CVO has enjoyed a rich and distinguished career as an academic, lawyer, community and human rights advocate, senior public officer, university college principal, and vice-regal representative in Queensland, and now Australia.

On 5 September 2008 Quentin Bryce was sworn in as Australia’s twenty-fifth Governor-General. As the first woman to take up the office, she remains a pioneer in contemporary Australian society, and yet one who brings more than forty years of experience in reform, community building and leadership to the role. On 25 March 2014, Prime Minister Tony Abbott announced that Ms Bryce had become a Dame in the Order of Australia.

Professor John Pearn

Major General John Pearn has served as one of Australia’s most senior doctor-soldiers. Professor Pearn is Senior Paediatrician at the Lady Cilento Children’s Hospital in Brisbane (previously the Royal Brisbane Children’s Hospital); where he has served as a full-time staff clinician since 1968. His major clinical, research and teaching interests in paediatrics and internal medicine have included medical genetics, clinical toxicology, bioethics and accident prevention.

Major General John Pearn also served in a second career in the Australian Defence Force, rising progressively through various senior command and executive positions in the Defence Health Service. In 1998 Major General Pearn was appointed Surgeon General to the Australian Defence Force and served in this role until his retirement in 2000.

Board of Directors

Safeguarding the Mission and Vision of GMRF

The Board of Directors act as guardians of the Foundation’s mission and vision. Board Members are ideally placed to stand back and take a detached view of potential future directions. They are instrumental in formulating: what GMRF plans to achieve, where it wants to be, and how it plans to get there. In doing so, the Board works closely with the CEO of the Foundation to further the research goals and monitor program effectiveness.

Mr Liam Kelly QC (Chairman)
Barrister in private practice

Ms Chris Went (Deputy Chairperson)
Chief Executive Officer, Greenslopes Private Hospital

Ms Carmel Monaghan (Company Secretary)
Group Chief of Staff Global, Ramsay Health Care

Dr Amanda Dines
Deputy Executive Director Medical Services Metro North Hospital and Health Service

Dr Michael Harrison
CEO/ Managing Partner, Sullivan Nicolaides Pathology

Professor John Horvath
Stategic Medical Advisor, Ramsay Health Care

Mr Tom Ryan
Former Director and Chairman of Australian Pharmaceutical Healthcare Systems (APHS)

Professor Ross Young
Executive Dean, Faculty of Health QUT

Click here for full profiles of the GMRF Board Members

Executive Committee 2018-2019

The role of the GMRF Executive Committee is to implement the strategic direction of the Board of Directors and to oversee the day to day management of the Foundation in line with our vision, mission and values.

Mr Liam Kelly GMRF Chairman

Ms Carmel Monaghan GMRF Company Secretary

Ms Chris Went GPH Chief Executive Officer

Ms Miriam Dwyer GMRF Chief Executive Officer

Ms Jane O’Brien GMRF Chief Operating Officer

Professor Darrell Crawford GMRF Director of Research

Dr Suzanne Elliott GMRF Associate Director of Clinical Trials

Dr Madeline Romaniuk GMRF Associate Director of Mental Health Research

Ms Emma Bryant GMRF Director of Development


Research Committees 2018-2019

The roles of the GMRF Research Committees are to evaluate all proposals for research to be undertaken by or under the auspices of the Foundation. The committees make recommendations to the Board of Directors in relation to the granting of research fellowships, making of research grants and other research expenditure. They then seek progress reports from grant recipients at least once annually and report back to the Board on the progress of the research areas.

GMRI Scientific Advisory Committee

Professor Ross Young (Chair) MSc, Dip, Clin Psyc, PhD, MAPS

Professor Darrell Crawford FRACP, MD

Dr Michael Harrison MBBS, FRCPA

Professor Ken Donald MBBS, PhD, FRCPA, FRCPath, FRACS (Hon), FRACMA

Professor Gerald Holtmann MBBS, FRACP, PhD

Veteran Mental Health Strategic Oversight Committee

Professor Gerald Holtmann MBBS, FRACP, PhD

Professor Darrell Crawford FRACP, MD

Mr Bill O’Chee RSL Queensland Representative


Dr Ian Gardener

Finance and Audit Subcommittee

Ms Christine Went

Mr Tom Ryan

Mr Liam Kelly

Mr Karl Morris